Playlist from Stuart McCallum of The Breath

This month’s Society of Sound release comes from The Breath a new band from Manchester that features guitarist Stuart McCallum and singer Ríoghnach Connolly. Delving into the spaces between rock, ambient and Irish folk the album mixes McCallum’s mesmerising guitar work with Connolly’s soulful vocals in a distinctive electronic soundworld.

You can read more about the recording of the album in Stuart McCallum’s production blog but here he gives an insight into some of their musical influences with “a playlist of tracks that the band were listening to at the time of writing and recording which gave some musical direction to the album.”

Catrin Finch/Seckou Keita – Ceffylau

Machinedrum – Infinite Us

Gil Scott Heron and Jamie XX – NY is Killing Me

Gerald Finzi – Cello Concerto, 2nd movement

Debussy – String Quartet in G minor, 3rd movement

Steve Reich – Music for 18 Musicians

Vaults – Premonitions

Frazey Ford – Firecracker

Go Go Penguin – Hopopono

Reem Kelani- Galilean Lullaby

Ane Brun- All My Tears

Read more about The Breath here

Add a comment

We welcome debate within Society of Sound, but please keep it friendly, respectful and relevant. We have a few house rules which we ask you to abide by to keep the debate intelligent. Read more.
Product enquiry or support issue? Please click here.

Related posts

Is Blu-Ray the saviour of high-quality stereo?

It’s been known for a while that Neil Young’s long-awaited Archives is going to be released on Blu-ray. But now that Amazon in the … Read more

Steve Van Zandt’s vinyl top 10

There is something very unappealing about recommendation technology. Amazon’s is almost patronising in its banality and does anyone … Read more

Listen with Prejudice – Susanna Grant

I have been thinking a lot about listening. I don’t have time to listen to music properly any more - I always seem to have a pile of … Read more