Exclusive high-quality format of Peter Gabriel’s new album

Peter Gabriel has chosen to make his new album, Scratch My Back, available as a 24-bit FLAC download exclusively through Society of Sound from March 2nd.

He has always been a passionate advocate for sound quality and felt that offering a high-quality version of his album was vital:

“I’ve always felt that the emotion lives in the detail of sound and that’s why we’ve made these recordings available here in the highest resolution we could, so if you have the time, the equipment and the enthusiasm, you can get as close as we did to the music.”

Scratch My Back is first in a series of ‘song exchanges’, where leading artists reinterpret each others music. It features orchestral re-workings of tracks such as David Bowie’s Heroes, Neil Young’s Philadelphia and Arcade Fire’s My Body is a Cage.

There is currently a free download of his stunning version of Bon Iver’s Flume on his website.

24-bit FLAC is a studio-master quality lossless format and means you can hear the album exactly as the artist and engineers intended.

And that extra quality pays dividends on this extrememly atmospheric, starkly arranged collection.

“When we recorded Scratch My Back we worked hard to get the best orchestral players,” explains Gabriel. “We had too many players for our own Studio at Real World , so we went to George Martin’s wonderful Air Lyndhurst to do the recording.”

The album will be available in two editions, the Special Edition CD will include a code allowing purchasers to download the 24-bit version via Society of Sound.

All Society of Sound full members will have access to the album in both CD-quality download and the superior 24-bit version.

The 24-bit format will be available from the 2nd March 2010.

The Track listing is as follows:

1. Heroes  (David Bowie)

2. The Boy in the Bubble (Paul Simon)

3. Mirrorball (Elbow)

4. Flume (Bon Iver)

5. Listening Wind (Talking Heads)

6. The Power of the Heart (Lou Reed)

7. My Body is a Cage (Arcade Fire)

8. The Book of Love (The Magnetic Fields)

9. I Think it’s Going to Rain Today (Randy Newman)

10. Apres Moi (Regina Spektor)

11. Philadelphia (Neil Young)

12. Street Spirit (Radiohead)


  • Juno says:

    I can’t wait to hear this!

  • Amy says:

    Pete does it again!!!

  • Richard Cote says:

    I’m so glad to hear this news, and will be even happier to hear the album in 24-bit!

  • SounDDD says:

    At last, real feeds to fully dimensionned files….
    Make this happen to every album produced, pleaaaaase…..

  • Matej says:

    Christmas comes really early this year!!!!

    Thank you SOS!!!

  • WilB says:

    Excellent and thanks Peter! I really enjoy those ‘highres’ files. HighRes is a new paradigm in the reproduction of sound.

Add a comment

We welcome debate within Society of Sound, but please keep it friendly, respectful and relevant. We have a few house rules which we ask you to abide by to keep the debate intelligent. Read more.
Product enquiry or support issue? Please click here.

Related posts

Mister Heavenly 12 (2011)

Album review: Mister Heavenly – Out of Love (Sub Pop)

Mister Heavenly's debut album, Out of Love Is packed with violent imagery and musical nods to the classic doo-wop era. This record … Read more

Massive Attack: Blue Lines

Classic Album Sundays’ Colleen Murphy listens to Unfinished Sympathy

I never fancied myself an anglophile but when I look back to the late eighties and early nineties, a good deal of my listening time … Read more

Sigur Ros, Inni. Special limited edition.

Sigur Ros announce live album and film – watch a preview here

On November 7th (in the UK, 15th in the US), Sigur Ros will release the much talked about Inni, a concert film and live album. … Read more